Our Advisory Board.

The Advisory Board suggests ways the JIE initiatives can be expanded and how collaboration between Arts and Sciences and the Professional Schools on educational and re-entry programs can be enhanced. JIE thanks the members of the advisory board for their valuable advice and support.

Ronald F. Day

The Fortune Society

Ronald F. Day, Ph.D., is Vice President of Programs at The Fortune Society in New York City. He is passionate about reentry, promoting desistance, dismantling mass incarceration, and addressing the stigma of incarceration.

Cheryl Wilkins

Columbia University

Cheryl Wilkins is the Co-Founder and Associate Director at Columbia University’s Center for Justice (CFJ) where her work is committed to ending the nation’s reliance on incarceration, developing new approaches to safety and justice, and participating in the national and global conversation around developing effective criminal justice policy.

Nicole B. Wallack

Columbia University

Nicole B. Wallack is the Director of Columbia University’s Undergraduate Writing Program and a Senior Lecturer-in-Discipline in the Department of English and Comparative Literature. She teaches writing pedagogy, writing studies theory, American literature and film, creative nonfiction and literatures of fact, public intellectuals, and undergraduate essay-writing courses.

Eamon Tewell

Columbia University

Eamon Tewell is Head of Research Support and Outreach for Columbia University’s Science, Engineering, & Social Science Libraries, where he identifies ways to support the research and learning needs of students and faculty.

Samuel Roberts

Columbia University

Dr. Samuel Kelton Roberts, Jr., PhD, is Associate Professor of History (Columbia University School of the Arts and Sciences) and Sociomedical Sciences (Columbia University’s Mailman School of Public Health), and is also a former Director of Columbia University’s Institute for Research in African American Studies (IRAAS).

Frances Negron-Muntaner

Columbia University

Frances Negrón-Muntaner is a Professor of English and Comparative Literature at Columbia University. She is an award-winning filmmaker, writer, and scholar, and the recipient of Ford, Truman, Scripps Howard, Rockefeller, and Pew fellowships as well as a Social Science Research Council and Andy Warhol Foundation grants.

Jean Howard

Columbia University

Jean Howard is the George Delacorte Professor in the Humanities at Columbia University in the Department of English and Comparative Literature. Professor Howard serves as the chair of the advisory board for the Justice-in-Education Initiative.

Bernard Harcourt

Columbia University

Bernard E. Harcourt is the Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law, Professor of Political Science, Executive Director of the Eric H. Holder Initiative for Civil and Political Rights, and Founding Director of the Columbia Center for Contemporary Critical Thought at Columbia University.

Robert Gooding-Williams

Columbia University

Robert Gooding-Williams holds appointments in both the Philosophy Department and the Department of African American and African Diaspora Studies, where he is a member of the Core Faculty and founding director of the Center for Race, Philosophy, and Social Justice. 

Eileen Gillooly

Columbia University

Eileen Gillooly, Adjunct Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature and the Institute for Research on Women and Gender, is the Executive Director of the Heyman Center for the Humanities and Society of Fellows and the Principal Investigator of the Justice-in-Education Initiative..

Geraldine Downey

Columbia University

Geraldine Downey is the Director at the Center for Justice and the Robert Johnston Niven Professor of Humane Letters in Psychology at Columbia University. Prof. Downey’s main interest is the study of personal and status-based rejection…

Jeremy R. Dodd

Columbia University

Jeremy R. Dodd is a Senior Lecturer in the Discipline of Physics in the Department of Physics at Columbia University.

Brett Dignam

Columbia University

Brett Dignam is Vice Dean of Experiential Education and a Clinical Professor of Law at Columbia Law School. An award-winning teacher, Dignam has supervised students in a broad range of litigation matters. She has designed and overseen workshops conducted by students for prisoners at the Federal Correctional Institution in Danbury, Conn.

Mary Marshall Clark

Columbia University

In addition to being the Director of the Columbia University Center for Oral History Research in INCITE, Mary Marshall is the co-founding director of Columbia’s Oral History Master of Arts (OHMA) degree program (with Peter Bearman) created in 2008-09, the first oral history master’s program in the United States.

Christopher Brown

Columbia University

Christopher Brown is a Professor of History and a scholar of Britain and the British empire, principally in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, with special emphasis on the comparative history of slavery and abolition, and with secondary interests in the Atlantic Slave Trade and the Age of Revolutions.

The Advisory Board mourns the passing of Kathy Boudin, a founding member of the Advisory Board and a long-time advocate for prison education programs and for the rights of all incarcerated people.